It’s Not All About The Pink Bras…Meet Claudia

Meet Claudia

I met Claudia through this blog. I want to thank her for allowing me to share this letter that she wrote to her gynecologist after her doctor missed obvious signs of breast cancer. Claudia is incredibly strong and brave for sharing these pictures of herself in the hope of saving another woman from going through a similar experience. Thank you Claudia for your friendship and for your generosity.

Dear Doctor,

It has been one year since I was diagnosed with Stage 3A breast cancer. I had a tumor measuring 9 centimeters. Ductal and lobular carcinoma, invasive, advanced disease, as you must surely know as a physician. Since then, I have endured a very sad and hard path in my life.

I lost my breasts, lost both of my nipples, lost my hair, and I can’t have estrogen circulating in my body.  As a gynecologist, you know what that does to me physically, and emotionally.

What does breast cancer treatments look like

Claudia sent this picture of herself with this letter to her gynecologist. Her doctor never responded.

I’m not sure if you forgot about it or not but I wanted to remind you of our last conversation.

You were my first line of defense against breast cancer. Here are the facts: one out of eight women will get some kind of breast cancer. Women who have fibrocystic or dense breast tissue have a higher chance of being diagnosed with it. Also, lobular cancer is very hard to detect. Knowing these three things should have made you think twice after reading my last mammogram report and after you personally examined me with your experienced hands.

I had a fat pocket that grew under my armpit and the only reason it grew there was because the tumor had pushed it out. I found out too late because you did nothing about it when I brought it to your attention.

My left nipple was leaking and turning inward, your words were, “It must be because you jog, because of the rubbing on your nipples, your brain thinks you are lactating.”

Burns from radiation treatment

Burns from Radiation Treatment

Well, my nipple was leaking because I had breast cancer. My nipple turned inward because I had breast cancer and that mass under my armpit was due to breast cancer.

You have two girls. Can you imagine if this happened to one of them or to you for that matter? Can you imagine losing your hair, losing your breasts?  How about watching your mom, dad, husband, young kids, and friends see you go through this suffering and not able to do anything about it?

Tamoxifen may save my life but let me tell you something, it numbs me. The side effects take away my quality of life.

I am grieving right now. I don’t know if I will live for two or twenty years. How do you think I feel having to do tests every three months, PET scans every six months and then every day of my life hanging onto the thought that at any time cancer could come back?

Although this is not a blame game, many times my thoughts go to you. I do blame you for your lack of care and attention. Be happy that I am not reaching you through lawyers.

After the mastectomy before reconstruction.

After the mastectomy, before reconstruction.

Pay more attention to your patients, teach them what to look for, educate them on breast cancer, or any other cancer related to your specialty. You made an oath as a doctor, have you forgotten what that really means?

Maybe I couldn’t have avoided the cancer. But you could have helped me avoid it being detected at stage 3.

Claudia Degomme, your ex-patient.

Degomme Family

The Degomme Family

Note: Claudia was smart, she followed her intuition and sought a second opinion when her doctor told her that her symptoms were nothing to worry about. Her best friend who is also a doctor provided the answers she needed to save her life. Here in Claudia’s words are what happened next.

Anaisys came with her family to dinner on a Saturday. Something was telling me that there was something wrong with my left breast because my nipple started to leak a little and it was going inward, even though the mammogram had come back CLEAR. 
I asked Anaisys to take a look and she noticed a dimpling in my breast’s skin and she said that was typical of a tumor. She did not say much more, I guess not to scare me, but she told me afterwards that she feared I had a tumor. So she herself made the call to the breast surgeon and made an appointment for me. Monday I was at the doctor’s office at 9 a.m. with my husband, not knowing that soon I was going to go through the hardest, saddest, craziest ride of my life. 
 Claudia and Anaisys

Claudia and her supportive, loving husband Yvan.

Claudia and her supportive, loving husband Yvan.

10 thoughts on “It’s Not All About The Pink Bras…Meet Claudia

  1. Claudia my dear child, it is my strongest intuitive feeling you will win this battle. You are one of my idols, and I can only hope to be as brave and forthright as you have been in my own battle.
    Besos to you, Yvan and the boys —

    • Nancy, thank you. If you need to reach me, please do so at degomme@bellsouth.net. And tell me your story. Trina has been very generous to let me tell my story in her blog, i can only give her back the wonderful comments i get back. Thanks again. Besos to you. Claudia

  2. Claudia is so brave to let her story be known. I didn’t take pictures let alone post them fir others to see until recently! She looks beautiful despite the burns and scars. Claudia is a warrior and I am proud and lucky to be her friend!!!!

  3. Claudia is a friend of mine and one of the strongest, fiercest women I know! This is a horrible disease that is more often than not misdiagnosed. I was told to go to Nordstrom and get a bra fitting when I complained of breast pain! One year later I was diagnosed with breast cancer and stage IV bone cancer. I tell every woman I meet if you have doubts get second or third opinions!!!

  4. Ive known Claudia for a couple of years we go to the same gym; When we heard the news were all devastated but we all knew she was going to be ok; shes full of light and love; shes an inspiration and has the greatest attitude towards life.

Leave a Reply

