Slightly Carbonated Coconut Cottage Cheese

 

I have to admit that I am stumbling towards enlightenment when it comes to super foods and supplements to support my immune system. I know they are vital to the well-being of my fragile immune system and to my long recovery ahead. I have had too many surgeries and too many treatments for breast cancer not to know that I am utterly screwed if I don’t take concrete measures to improve the way my body handles carcinogens.  I have been discovering and trying all kinds of juicing, powders and supplements, and I have learned some interesting things, some the hard way.

Over the summer, Joe planted a wonderfully abundant organic garden and we juiced daily from its bounty and drank our nutrients. Juicing fruits and vegetables accomplishes two extremely important functions; the first is that you are able to consume a lot more nutrients by taking pounds of fresh fruits and vegetables and reducing them to an eight-ounce glass of juice that is packed full of super-nutrients that our bodies need to be optimally healthy. Secondly, by juicing you free up the nutrients from the fiber that it is attached to. For example, if you eat a carrot, the body may absorb 10-30% of the beta-carotene, the rest of the beta-carotene is attached to the fiber of the vegetable and eliminated unabsorbed by the body. If you juice that same carrot and separate the nutrient from the fiber, your body can absorb 100% of the beta-carotene from that same carrot. 

It is November now and the summer garden is long gone, so I searched for an alternative. A dear friend of mine who works in holistic healing brought over a green powder that consists of freeze-dried nutrients, even more potent than what we could juice from the garden. The directions said to mix 1-3 tablespoons into water and drink. I took out a small glass placed the recommended amount in, added about a half cup of water and stirred like crazy. The powder and the water were not mixing too well together and I was afraid I would end up with a big patch of unmixed powder in my mouth. I stirred and stirred, I was ready to take the plunge. Holy cow it was nasty tasting, and I was right to fear the pockets of powder. I looked at Joe and shook my head, “I don’t know how compliant I am going to be with this,” I said.

The next day I decided to mix the green powder with some organic pear nectar. I figured the nectar was thick enough to handle the powder and the sweetness should be able to help with the taste a little bit. That did work and I mixed a palatable shot that I could swallow really quickly in just a couple of gulps. “I believe in the power of these super-nutrients” became my mantra as I got through the week supply that my friend had dropped off. I called her for the source; I needed more of this stuff. My appetite is a mess from the pain medications and trauma from two surgeries back to back, and I need to continue to offer my body nutrient-dense foods. She gave me the name and number of the guy who delivers this stuff right to your door. She also kept telling me that I need to drink his coconut probiotic concoction to promote healing and keep my digestive system in tip-top condition; which is also a mess from the pain medications and prolonged use of antibiotics because of the infection.

So I called Rob the green powder guy and he was at my door within an hour with a pound of the powder and a mason jar full of coconut probiotic sludge. $95 for the two, not cheap, but that’s a lot of nutrients right?

After he left I went into the kitchen to pour myself the recommended starting dose of ½ cup of the sludge. It smelled like coconut but had chunks like cottage cheese in it. I got out a spoon and tried to stir the chunks into the liquid, but that didn’t make them smaller, nor did pressing the chunks into the side of the glass with the back of a spoon. So I decided I would just take a swig and be done with it. What hit my taste buds was a slightly carbonated coconut cottage cheese drink and I thought I was going to projectile vomit the whole mouthful right onto the kitchen counter. Rob had sold me on the benefits of the probiotic and I was financially invested in this, so the sludge was going down. I stirred and drank, stirred and drank, then followed it with a shot of pear nectar with green powder. The whole thing was exhausting so I went back to bed. 

About a half hour later my stomach started to gurgle really loudly, and churned. I had a war going on inside my digestive tract and I was crossing my fingers that I was going to come out of this without a rapid elimination of all of these expensive, hard to get down nutrients. I sipped water and my stomach finally calmed. Phew.

The next day, Joe, being the smoothie king that he is, offered to blend the sludge into a tasty mid-day snack for me. The smoothie he made tasted just like anything you could buy at Jamba Juice and I was thrilled, I could live with this. He offered to incorporate the green powder, but I didn’t want to take the chance of ruining a perfectly good smoothie so I took the pear nectar shot separately.

After about a couple of weeks of taking these supplements I can feel real energy returning to my body, and my breast is healing from surgery. Joe also said that my skin looks really good which is a plus, but that could also be because another good friend turned me onto her anti-aging creams, but I will write about that another time.

For a great documentary on the benefits of juicing check out “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead.” By Joe Cross.

http://www.fatsickandnearlydead.com/trailer.html

4 thoughts on “Slightly Carbonated Coconut Cottage Cheese

  1. I sure hope this helps because it looks awful. After all you’ve been through, I’d imagine this is nothing. AT least the right guy got elected so you and many will have health insurance. Keep up the good fight.

Leave a Reply

